Until Every Animal is Free


Until Every Animal is Free is an insightful, candid work heralding the Animal Liberation Movement as the next logical step on the path of social justice, dispelling many of the myths that keep us from getting there. In it, Saryta Rodríguez challenges the Myth of Human Supremacy, and explores some of the ideological pillars behind the belief that humans are superior to all other animals. This book also discusses animal liberation theory, the role of nonhuman animals in scientific testing, and recent efforts to put animal liberation on the public agenda.

Works such as Peter Singer’s Animal Liberation laid powerful groundwork for interest in animal welfare by revealing the horrors of factory farming to the masses.  Since then, animal welfare concerns have given rise to humanewashing and the prominence of The Humane Myth: The notion that there is a “right way” to kill someone who does not want to die, provided that that someone is not human.  (Sadly, Singer himself is not vegan, and his work focused on a rejection of cruel animal treatment rather than the abolition of animal use altogether.)

The time has come for a follow-up, taking Singer’s work one step further by openly criticizing those institutions which have popped up in response to the gruesome realities Animal Liberation revealed, such as lax legislation and related marketing buzzwords as “cage free” and “grass-fed.”

The book was released on Thursday, October 1, 2015.

ISBN: 978-1940184197
Publisher: Vegan Publishers
Publication Date: October 1, 2015
Formats: Paperback and eBook
Pages: 292 pages

For a free Bonus Chapter and supplementary essays, click here.

 Order and Review on Amazon Here!
RETAILERS: Order Direct from Vegan Publishers Here!
Order and review on Barnes and Noble’s Website Here! 
Order from Powell’s City of Books (Portland) Here!

Also available at select Barnes and Noble locations, at Bluestockings (NYC), at Columbia University’s Lerner Hall Bookstore (NYC), at BookWoman (Austin, TX), and at Firestorm Cafe and Books (Asheville, NC).





All content © Saryta Rodríguez, 2018